2014…another new year…

I thought last year when I posted that the previous 5 years had been difficult that things would start looking up. In March, 2013, I lost the job that I loved when the company I worked for filed bankruptcy after over 50 years in business. I struggled financially the whole year because of it. But on August 6, 2013, the worst, most unimaginable thing happened…my oldest son, Logan Dale Evans, age 23, was killed suddenly & tragically in a flash flood. I have spent the past 5 months trying to get the pieces of my life back together in some way.

I started a new blog, On Angel Wings as a form of therapy to try to talk about the loss and to help others in the same situation. My children have always been my life, so this loss was one I could have never been prepared for. My son had a little 3-year-old girl that I love and cherish…probably more now than ever, if that is possible.

Since this tragic accident, I have slowly tried to get back into creating small pieces of art. I’ve recently discovered Zentangles, which has allowed me to focus intently on something other than sadness, grief, depression & loss. It has helped me tremendously to have an outlet. If you haven’t tried Zentangling, then I recommend you do. I have creative friends that say, “There is no way I could do that!” But it is so easy, and I promise you CAN do it! There are lots of books, videos & photos online with instructions.

I’m gonna post mine here…keep in mind that I am BRAND NEW at this, but I really have loved my results. Ask me questions if you’d like…I’ll lead you to the places that have helped me.

2 thoughts on “2014…another new year…

  1. My youngest brother was killed instantly by a lightening strike to the heart when he was just 22 years old. It’s been over 20 years and my family–especially my mother–is still healing from such a tragic loss. Healing takes time–a very long time. Are you familiar with author Melodie Beattie’s books on grief? You might find them helpful. Two that come to mind are “The Grief Club” and “Lessons in Love.” She lost her son in a skiing accident. My heart goes out to you.

    • Thank you for sharing your story and for your compassion! I think this kind of loss, and the loss of your brother, is something you learn to live with but never truly get over. I can understand how your parents felt at the sudden death…there is no preparation in such a tragedy. I am just learning to take one day at a time, and if I need to break down today, I will. Finding a creative outlet has really helped me to re-focus my attention so I don’t obsess over things. I also started my other blog…I’m not very consistent with it yet…but it helps me explain my feelings and the story.

Leave a Reply

